Ode to my Brandy


Dear (Blog)friends,

As you could read in one of my more recent post, lady luck did not smile upon me when this year started. However hard to deal with the breaking of precious things, in the end stuff is stuff and with money you can get your stuff repaired or replaced.

Brandy - Copyright @ LosAngelas

Brandy - Copyright @ LosAngelas

It was a whole other story when I had to take my dear Brandy to the vet, when I thought she had a small infection and it turned out to be a uncureable tumor, with the message of “days maybe weeks” and tears in my eyes I left the vet.

The days that followed I cherished my time with Brandy, and made sure that everybody in my family got the chance to say their goodbyes to her. Luckily the days turned into weeks and I have been happy and thankful to have those last moments with her.

Unfortunaltely, irreversible means in this case irreversible, and at one point I had to make the hardest decision of my life, on someone else’s life.

Goodbye my dear friend, I will never forget you!

Brandy - Copyright @ LosAngelas
Brandy – Copyright @ LosAngelas
ps. after this loss, it was hard to be inspired to blog for a while, but I’m sure that I will soon be surprising you with some delicious and colorful posts🙂

 

 

9 responses to “Ode to my Brandy

  1. I’m very sorry! But good for you that you were brave enough to make that decision and sparing her further pain. How old was she?

    • Hey Kristina
      Brandy was 16 years old, and I picked her when she was only 2 weeks, when I myself was 16.
      She was and always will be one of my dearest friends❤

  2. Very sorry to hear all this, Angela – I love cats too. But she was depending on you for that final decision – without it she would have had vastly more suffering and been unable to do anything about it.

    Take good care of yourself. Adrian

    • Thank you so much for your kind words Adrian! It was inevitable, and it was such a hard decision to make, but you are right it was the best. I still miss her a lot

  3. Thank you for your kind words about Sammie – her loss is a devastation to me, but I know I am sadly not alone, as others have also suffered similar losses. Such a beautiful picture of Brandy – she was lucky to have her time with you as she was clearly very loved.

  4. I visited your blog because of the beautiful pictures that you shared from The Netherlands, but I saw this post as well.  I have lost a pet or two and this poem has always given me comfort.  I hope it can do the same for you as you miss your beloved Brandy.  Remember that Brandy is happily and healthfully waiting for you at the Rainbow Bridge.

    Here is the link to the poem http://rainbowsbridge.com/Poem.htm
    But I have also included the poem in it’s entirety.

    The Rainbow Bridge Poem
    Just this side of heaven is a place called Rainbow Bridge.
    When an animal dies that has been especially close to someone here, that pet goes to Rainbow Bridge. There are meadows and hills for all of our special friends so they can run and play together. There is plenty of food, water and sunshine, and our friends are warm and comfortable.

    All the animals who had been ill and old are restored to health and vigor. Those who were hurt or maimed are made whole and strong again, just as we remember them in our dreams of days and times gone by. The animals are happy and content, except for one small thing; they each miss someone very special to them, who had to be left behind.
    They all run and play together, but the day comes when one suddenly stops and looks into the distance. His bright eyes are intent. His eager body quivers. Suddenly he begins to run from the group, flying over the green grass, his legs carrying him faster and faster.

    You have been spotted, and when you and your special friend finally meet, you cling together in joyous reunion, never to be parted again. The happy kisses rain upon your face; your hands again caress the beloved head, and you look once more into the trusting eyes of your pet, so long gone from your life but never absent from your heart.

    Then you cross Rainbow Bridge together…. 

    Author unknown…

  5. Pingback: Meet Cedric & Mushroom | up close in my world

Leave a Reply

