Imperfect Scones



Blog scones 1 - copyright @ LosAngelas

After my time in Scotland I felt the need to make scones. I had a few, on one of the many tea breaks we had. I swear that some british people have tea running trough their veins, at least my mother in law has. To balance it out I drank about 2 liters of coffee on the day I came back.

As inspiration for my food photography my sister made me this creative display tray, perfect for this occasion

blog scones 3 - copyright @ LosAngelas

 Anyway,  for the scones:

300 grams selfraising flower

1 tsp baking powder

pinch of salt 

55 grams cold butter cut in cubes

300 ml buttermilk

Mix the flower, the baking powder & salt, then add the butter cubes and with your fingers kneed the into crumbles.

Then add the buttermilk & sugar and mix into a dough. Put the dough on a flowered surface, and roll out till 2 cm thick.

Use a round cutter (flowered) to cut out the scones. Then bake in a preheated oven for about 15 minutes. 

Serve with cream and jam.

the dough part did not work out as well as planned, so my scones did not turn out perfect, but delicious nevertheless.

If you are interested in perfect scones, I found this video on YouTube, which shows how to make these perfectly.

blog scones 4 - Copyright @ LosAngelas

Blog scones 2 - Copyright @ LosAngelas

13 responses to “Imperfect Scones

Leave a Reply

