Apple turnovers, a quick fix when in need of something sweet.


appelflappen 2 - copyright @ LosAngelas

Sometimes you have a graving for something sweet. It doesn’t matter what it is, even a teaspoon of sugar would do at that moment. I had that feeling last week as I was walking through the city, then the idea of baklava popped in my head.

A couple of years ago I was on holiday in Crete and ate this almost every day, and thinking back of that I knew it, Baklava was the solution. There was one place that I knew at that time that sells this, but when I arrived there I was disapointed. They did not sell it anymore, cause of the change of season.

appelflappen- Copyright @ LosAngelas

 

This was not the time to find and try out a new recipe. So I went for a quick fix, an old favorite, Appleturnovers or appelflappen as we call them in Holland. I used to make these when I was a little girl with my mother and loved them.

All you need is some puffpastry, apple chopped, raisins, some lemon juice, cinnamon and sugar.

You don’t need to be Masterchef for this, but it does the trick when you’re in need of something sweet.

appelflappen 4 copyright @ LosAngelas

 

appelflappen 6 - copyright @ LosAngelas

appelflappen 3 - copyright @ LosAngelas

 

6 responses to “Apple turnovers, a quick fix when in need of something sweet.

  1. Angela, again a very nice set of photos of a subject that wouldn’t normally interest me – and I especially like the top photo – that’s got really excellent placing of the constituent bits and pieces, very well done. Adrian

    • Thanks FATman!
      It’s my aim to make beautiful food photography (and I’m not the best cook…) but it’s more about the photography.
      Hopefully one day I can convince people to eat apple turnovers by making them look “finger licking” good

      • Oh yes, while I think of it, Angela – I have a good friend who also photographs food and publishes recipes – she’s away on honeymoon now, but you might like to see her blog – her WordPress name is bakedcottonstar. Adrian

Leave a Reply

