Rhubarb gets a second chance ~ Rhubarb Soufflé


Rhubarb souffle 4 - copyright LosAngelas

It’s the time of the year that almost overnight rhubarb pops up everywhere; when I go to the market to buy my fruits & vegs, there they are; any food magazine HAS to have some rhubarb related topic and of course the food bloggers… I understand it, from all the fruits & veggies, rhubarb has by far the most extraordinary and beautiful color!

But for as long as I can remember, I have always disliked this veg. I still have visions from when I was six, and my mother had a big pan of Rhubarb on the stove and as a special treat, we had stewed Rhubarb for dessert.

“If you think it’s too sour, just add some extra sugar.” my mother said to me, and as I scooped in heaps of sugar, my sister ladled in her second bowl, she clearly could not get enough of it.

But 20+ years later, your taste changes and I cannot deny that I’m not attracted by the color of this vegs and the many recipes that flirt with me. So I had to give Rhubarb a second chance and I did it with this Rhubarb Soufflé recipe.

It’s a fairly easy recipe to make and although I’m happy how the photos turned out, I can conclude that I really don’t like rhubarb and so I called sis and she ate both soufflés.

But if you like rhubarb, here is what you need & need to do:

250 grams of rhubarb, in pieces of 3 cm

3 tablespoons of sugar

1 teaspoon of cornstarch

50 ml water

1 egg white

1 spoon of butter

Grease 2 small oven dishes with butter and  sugar them. In a big pan, heat the rhubarb in 50 ml of water and with the sugar on a low heat. Let it simmer for for about 15 mins. Pour the liquid in a cup and set aside.

push the rhubarb through a colander sieve. Set a small bit of the juice, to serve as a side.  To the rest of the juice add the cornstarch mix thoroughly and heat this. Then leave it to cool down.  

Whip the egg white until stiff then the rhubarb mixture and mix thoroughly. Scoop the mixture in the oven dishes, and bake for 15 minutes on 170 degrees.

Serve immediately ( to get the full soufflé effect) and with the some of the leftover rhubarb juice on the side. 

Enjoy!! 

Ps. here is a great link for Rhubarb lovers: Bangers&Mash makes a collections of rhubarb recipes :)

Rhubarb souffle 3 - copyright LosAngelas

Rhubarb Souffle 7 - copyright LosAngelas

Rhubarb Souffle 6 - copyright LosAngelas

6 responses to “Rhubarb gets a second chance ~ Rhubarb Soufflé

  1. Well done with giving rhubarb a second chance. I really like it cooked and think I would love this souffle, but I remember hating it raw as a child. My mum used to give me and my siblings a stick of rhubarb from the garden and a little pot of sugar that we could dip the rhubarb into while we ate it. It was hard and bitter and I thought it was horrible! When I had it cooked it was a revelation to me.

  2. I love both rhubarb and souffle, very good on doing souffle’s … maybe I should take on the challenge too. *smile – Looking so good and reading good too.

  3. That’s very odd. I followed you over here from my blog, taking a break from processing some photos for my Rhubarb Fool post. I promise to post it before the season passes.
    Lovely idea of the soufflé and excellent pictures too.
    Best,
    Conor

Leave a Reply

